Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementias Training

Website Graphic

In Florida, all settings licensed to provide care for adults and seniors must abide by strict Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias training requirements for staff members.

430.5025 F.A.C.— Florida statute establishes universal Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias (ADRD) training requirements to be used by nursing homes, home health agencies, nurse registries, companion or homemaker service providers, health care services pools, assisted living facilities (ALF), adult family-care homes (AFCH), adult day care centers (ADCC), and care settings that provide specialized Alzheimer’s services.  Read the full statute here.

The statute requires that all employees within these care settings receive basic written information about interacting with persons who have ADRD upon beginning employment. Those who provide personal care to or have regular contact with participants or residents, must also complete one hour of dementia-related training within 30 days of their initial employment.

Hospice facilities were not affected by HB299, and must continue to follow guidelines outlined in Florida Administrative Code Rules 59A-38.019 and 59A-38.020, pursuant to 400.6045(1) F.S. https://www.flrules.org/

Home Health, Companion and Homemaker
Service, Nurse Registry

Basic written information upon employment
1-hour within first 30 days
Additional 2 hours within first 7 months

Assisted Living, Adult Family Care Home, Adult Day Care (not specialized)

Basic written information upon employment
1-hour within first 30 days
Additional 3 hours within first 7 months

Assisted Living, Adult Family Care Home, Adult Day Care offering MEMORY CARE

Basic written information upon employment
1-hour within first 30 days
Additional 3 hours within first 3 months
Additional 4 hours within first 6 months
Then, 4 hours each calendar year (contact hours, OTJ training, online learning tools)



Nursing Home

Basic written information upon employment
1-hour within first 30 days
Additional 3 hours within first 7 months



Hospice

Basic written information upon employment
1-hour within first 3 months
Additional 3 hours within first 9 months

Note:

  • Employees of a health care services pool must complete the training requirements that correlate with the setting in which the employee will be working.
  • Employees of ALFs with a limited mental health license are not required to complete the additional training outlined above.
  • Employees who begin working in a different care setting from the one for which they initially completed training may check whether the previous training satisfies the requirements for their new setting here.